Top Ten Authors I really want to meet.

Top ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. A topic is provided for each Tuesday. In this post I will tell my Top Ten for the topic at hand. This week’s topic is: Top Ten Authors I really want to meet.

As a student of Creative Writing I am often fascinated by the people behind the books. But I also have a sort of respecting view that says that the work is not a representation of the author, which leaves me with a sort of awe for them. After all authors are miniature gods: always creating new worlds, and we all might just be on the pages of a book.
To make the list easier for myself to make, I have not picked authors that are dead, otherwise the first three spots would just be too hard to make out. You know J.R.R. Tolkien, Lewis Carroll, C.S. Lewis, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen… how to sort through those people

1. J.K. Rowling
For me the top pick was obvious. Harry Potter has been such a big part of my life, and my late childhood. To meet the queen of the Potter Universe would be fantastic. Additionally to spin the wheels of imagination in the heads of millions of Potterheads, J.K. Rowling seems like such a wonderful person. She does a lot for those who are less fortunate and she support charities. It all just sums up to an amazing person that I would really love to meet.

2. G.R.R. Martin. 
I love Game of Thrones, the TV-series and the books. The books are brilliant to me, though I know my high opinion of them might be biased, which is why I will never write a review. G.R.R. Martin is just someone I would love to get writing tips from, I don’t know how he manages to braid all the red threads together,  and I would love to be able to build conflicts the way he does.

3. Darren Shan
Darren Shan is one of my favorite authors, and I think I would very much love to pick his brain on how to write literature for Children and Teens. The Saga of Darren Shan is my favorite vampire series, it’s got none of that paranormal romance none-sense and it is brutal. The Thin Executioner is another book of his that I absolutely love. To get to chat and pick up some writing tips on how to do grotesque without making it too extreme would just be great.

4. Gayle Forman
I know that her books “If I stay” and “Where she went” got a lot of buzz and they both made my cry, but those two books are not why she is in this list. Her book “Sister’s in Sanity” a boo about teenager Brit who gets enrolled at  Red Rock, a bogus treatment center that claims to cure rebellious teen girls. The book is brilliant, and the fact that these kind of camps exists is just horrible. Reading the book I felt sick to my stomach because of the kind of mental abuse they encountered at the “treatment center.”
I would love to write about such issues myself, but I would not know where to start.

5. Suzanne Collins
I am sure she will show up on a few lists. I am a fan of the Hunger Games, and I would like to meet the author of that neat little trilogy. She is an author I have never really researched a lot about, but she seems like an interesting person and I like how her brain work: who would think to make fiction out of reality TV and war. (Yes yes, I know about the Japanese Battle Royale, but if you read both of them they are significantly different.)

6. Lauren Brooke
As a little horse-crazed girl, I loved the Heartland-series. And I still love them, even though I quit the book club before I got all the books in the series. Though I am not quite sure if Lauren Brooke is an actual person or just a persona for a ghost writer/s. Very little is know about her, but I would love to meet her to have a great conversation about Natural Horsemanship and natural remedies to help horses (and people)

7. Laurie Halse Anderson
I would love to meet Laurie Halse Anderson, because of the wonderful books she writes. She writes on very taboo subject: rape, depression, eating disorders. A lot of her books are banned in school libraries, which only means that they are books worth reading.
There are no glamorous lies in her books, her writing is very raw. My favorite book of her is Wintergirls.

8. John Ajvide Lindqvist
I know that his book “Let the Right One In” has a sort of hype in the aftermath of the vampire-craze in 2008. He is one of the few horror authors I really like. I really love his creepy and dark horror. additionally his horror. His books are filled with dirty realism and dark taboo horror. The movie adaption of “Let the Right One In” did by no means measure up to the creepiness of the book, and the movie was creepy (I’m talking about the Swedish adaption which Lindqvist wrote the screenplay for, not the american knock off). “Handling the Undead” is another amazing book of his.

9. Lorna Byrne
Usually I don’t have too much of a listening ear on for other’s religious babble. But Lorna Byrne talks about angels in such a beautiful way, and in a way that is so free of judgment. She is one of the few people I would let preach to me, because she is so accepting of other religions. I, myself, is a Pagan, and her ideology that every religion is one just fits very well with my belief. Because of this I have actually taken the time to read her books, and I loved he biography “Angels in my Hair.”

10. Anthony Horowitz
Okay, I love Alex Rider, and I am so sad that the books about him are now over. The Alex Rider books are my “flight books” because they are the perfect length for a flight from London to Oslo. I love all the adventures Alex Rider venture out on, even is he is very reluctant to go on them. I am glad it is over for him now, poor boy, but I just wish these book would continue forever.
The Gatekeepers-series is also one of the series I enjoy to read, though I think I am one book behind right now. Anyhow, I would love to get some writing tips thrown my way.

Honorable mention:
When I finished this list, I remembered one author I forgot to put on it and I felt so sad, but I also couldn’t remove any of the ones I had put in my top ten.
My Honorable Mention is Sue Monk Kidd. Her writing is just so different from other books I have read, and I absolutely loved “The Secret Life of Bees.” I would very much like to meet her.

6 responses to “Top Ten Authors I really want to meet.

  1. christine danielle

    I absolutely love that you chose Rowling because she’s such an amazing writer and she seems like a pretty great person.
    Top Ten Tuesday

  2. I had JK Rowling on my list, and Suzanne Collins as well. I loved the Heartland books as well when I was younger, so Lauren Brooke probably would have been on my list if I’d had more space (have you seen the TV series? It’s really different from the books but really good). As far as I know Lauren Brooke is an actual person, no pseudonym or ghostwriter.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/top-ten-tuesday-4/

    • Yeah, I have watched through season five of Heartland, I do like the series but struggled a bit to agree with all the changes xD I did a bit of digging into Lauren Brooke and there is very little information on her and it has been rumored that it’s not an actual person, but then again she could just be a very private person.

  3. Meeting Laurie Halse Anderson would be fun!

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-authors-i-really.html

  4. Definitely Rowling. and forman

Leave a Reply

