Day 10: Book that changed your life

I like to think that all books I read change my life slightly. All books are a space in which all kinds of ideas can be explored, without fear of what the consequences might be. As Edward P. Morgan once said;

A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face. It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy.

Because of this, I am against censorship of creative works. I don’t believe that creative works should ever be censored. In my mind the pages of books is the place to explore anything you want. If a book is too taboo or touching on a too sensitive topic it says more about our society than the author or the readers.
Of course there are books out there that walks on the edge of insanity, but you don’t have to read those books if you don’t want to. There is also very little chance that a disturbed individual will read a disturbed book and come up with an idea more disturbing that what he or she already came up with.

Though int he end I think that all books we read, especially the books we enjoy, stays with us and has a smaller or bigger impact on us as a person. We might went with Frodo to Mordor and experienced a long journey in a Middle East we will never visit. Or maybe we went through he doors of Narnia. Maybe we read a book with a serial killer as the protagonist. In the world of books anything can be experienced, safely without anyone getting hurt.
This aside, I do believe there are such things as good books and bad books, but what is a good or a bad book is up to each individual to decide.

The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.
~James Bryce

If I would be to pick a book that did have an impact on my life, I would pick “The Art of Forgetting” by Camille Noë Pagan. The reason simply is that I read this book a very right time in my life, and it helped me make some new decisions in my life.

“Trust me, it’s the weight of someone else’s expectation that’s the hardest to lose.”
― Camille Pagán, The Art of Forgetting

It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.
~Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

