Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton is a Science fiction / fantasy novel, that takes place in Scotland, London and Hong Kong. It’s narrative is told through four POV’s: Quin, John, Shinobu and Maud. I did not really connect with any of these characters as they seemed a bit alienated to me. Quin is the typical do-gooder who wants to be a seeker but when she finds out what it is she has a change of mind. Shinobu follow kind of the same kind of thing.

The book fails to give the reader an insight to what a seeker really is, and the true purpose of that role is never revealed. This is the first book in a trilogy, so it might be explained later. Though a good series is often emphasized by the fact that each book in the series can be read as stand-alone-books without leaving the reader with too many questions.

Also the “science fiction” part of the novel falls kind of flat as even though it is supposed to have a futuristic setting (I guess), it feels like the setting is set in the present day (apart from a few details).

Seeker is a good start on a series, and it is a great addition to the YA-genre. It strength lies in the split narrative, which allows the reader to see more aspects of the world and gives the author liberty to explore the world in more than one way. Though it is advertised as a Hunger Games meets Game of thrones, I did not really get the feel of either of those books. Seeker is imaginative and colorful, and though it is a bit slow-paced to start with the pace picks up and gives the reader an adventure ride.

The Seeker is available from Waterstones today


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s