The Hunger Games: blood will be shed

"The Hunger Games" cover

It’s a long time since a book managed to ruin my circadian rhythm and kept me up all night. It will take me long time to sleep 8 hours a night again, but luckily the coming week has short schooldays and I’ll travel to Birmingham on Thursday.

Back on track: For months I’ve told people I’m not going to read “The Hunger Games” by Suzann Collins because I didn’t think it was my kind of book ( plus: Stephenie Meyer recommended it, everybody knows that she avoid violence: Hunger games is a book mainly about teenagers killing each other… But then I read some positive feedback on it from Stephen King.)
I started reading “The Hunger Games” Friday afternoon, Saturday morning I was done. This book managed to keep me awake for several hours more than healthy, but the lack of sleep only added to the book:

The Author: Suzanne Collins

We are on a huge arena, not too unlike Colosseum, 24 teenagers between ages 12 and 18 are the gladiators; the last one living is the winner. Every inch of this death-fight is covered by cameras broadcasted live on national television as some twisted kind of reality TV.

While reading I caught myself thinking: “Oh Goddess I wish I could be there!” The thought of being somewhere in the wilderness fighting for my own life without any backstabbing allies really appealed to me. It was like an adrenalin rush kept me awake to just stay in this fantasy world as the sixteen year old girl Katniss.

In the book we meet Katniss while she is on her way out to hunt. She and her family lives in district 12 in Appalachia which is located eastern in what once was The United States. The country they live in is now called Panem and their capital city is called Capitol. Katniss and her family is poor, her father is dead and Katniss is the head of the family. In many ways Katniss is a strong warrior, she makes sure her family survives and doesn’t starve. She doesn’t fear death or Capitol, but she is protective of her younger sister Primrose.
Every year one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 from each district are selected at random and forced to participate in the Hunger Games, a televised event where the participants, or “tributes”, must fight in a dangerous outdoor arena until only one remains alive.
Primrose is picked and Katniss volunteer to take her place. The boy chosen from District 12 is the baker’s son, Peeta Mellark.
Katniss and Peeta are taken to the Capitol, where they meet the other tributes and are publicly displayed to the Capitol audience. During this time, Peeta reveals on-air his long-time unrequited love for Katniss. Katniss believes this to be a ploy to gain audience support for the Games, which can be crucial for survival, as audience members are permitted to send gifts to favoured tributes during the Games.
11 tributes dies at the first day of the game, Katniss relies on her well-practiced hunting and outdoors skills to survive.
Supposedly due to Katniss and Peeta’s beloved image to the audience as “star-crossed lovers”, a rule change is announced midway through the Games, stating that two tributes from the same district can win the Hunger Games as a pair. Due to this information Katniss search for Peeta and finds him terrible wounded. She nurses him back to health and acts the part of a young girl falling in love to gain more favour with the audience and, consequently, gifts from her sponsors.
**SPOILER** When the couple finally are the last two tributes, the Gamemakers suddenly reverse the rule change. By doing this they hope that they will fight until one kill the other. Instead of fighting Peeta and Katniss tries to commit suicide by eating poison berries. The Gamemakers declare Katniss and Peeta as the winners of 74th Hunger games, because it would be a failure to not have any winner at all.

While reading this book I felt incredible hurt, fantastic and I was entertained. This is the book I’ve been missing, a book that won’t let me put it down before I finish it. This book went with me to the bathroom, went with me while eating, the only place I didn’t bring it with me was into the shower because it would get wet.

 This book is so brilliantly composed, but I’m dissatisfied with one thing: the ending. I hate the ending and it almost makes me not wanting to read the next book. The reason I hate the ending: it doesn’t have one. The book just ends, and then you have to buy the next one to find out how it ends. I know that this is a series, but all book should have some kind of ending. Hopefully I’ll get my hands on the sequel soon.

The movie rights for this book are bought and the author wrote the manuscript, the manuscript is revised by the screenwriter Billy Ray. I look forward to this movie and hope they stay true to the book. Many people suggest Jodelle Ferland as Katniss; I’m not sure about how she would grab the role I always finds it hard to believe her acting when it isn’t a horror movie she is in. But I understand why people like her, because she looks lethal. If I had to pick I would like to see Amiera Darwish (Kirk) as Katniss, but she is probably too old to get the part, so I have to go back and say I think Jodelle would fit the part as Katniss.

2 responses to “The Hunger Games: blood will be shed

  1. Hale & Salvatore Must Reads

    I just finished reading “The Hunger Games” about three days ago!

    I’m now reading the second book “Catching Fire” it’s amazing!

  2. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

