“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around…

Portrait of Roald Dahl

Image via Wikipedia

…you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”
By Roald Dahl.

Roald Dahl (1916 – 1990) was a British novelist with Norwegian parentage, he wrote many books, unfortunately I haven’t been able to read many of them.

This will be a very brief post as I should be writing on a letter to Trinity College in Dublin and revise my movie analysis for tomorrows English class at this very moment.

 

(Brief text on what that quote means to me right now):
Great secrets are found in the most unlikely places. I would rather like to say that inspiration and the urge to write is found in the most unlikely places. Inspiration comes to me when I walk, at my home you are likely find me walking around in my room with a notebook because my thoughts are really spinning when I walk. When any song by Voltaire appears on my MP3-player (yep, I do not have an iPod!) my thoughts, if possible, spins even faster. Sometimes I just walk in a circle while listening to music and letting my thoughts spin wild.
Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it. When I don’t believe that I’ll find any inspiration, but truth is: anything is inspiration to me if I just chose to be positive. The simplest things can contain the biggest story, if you get a little sentence in you head about ex. a cup, don’t throw it away let it develop and become something bigger, writing-worthy.

And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.
Look at everything with fresh eyes, because hidden treasures can be anywhere you look. Maybe you missed a fairy in the hedge or the witch that crossed the street. Remember, you can see anything you want if you just chose to look at it.

3 responses to ““And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around…

  1. I’ve never read Dahl myself. but his books do sound lovely. I was always reading adult fiction as a kid so I skipped all the children books. I totally agree with inspiration being everywhere and that you must believe magic is out there and yes, it is out there. I love you haven’t got an iPod. Neither do I, instead, I’ve got this ancient beaten-up Mp3 player that has fallen apart so many times, it’s held together with an elastic band but it still plays. For me, Bauhaus is my choice of music and where I get inspiration.

    • MP3 Players rules… We should form a group “we who like MP3-players better” (okay: me trying to be funny)

      I’m actually a little guttered that I haven’t read more than one Roald Dahl book (read “The Witches” earlier this year).

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      • I must read him sometime because I know how good his books are. Yeah, I agree with you about the MP3 players being awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

