“Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you act.”

Leonard Cohen

Image via Wikipedia

A quote by Leonard Cohen a Canadian singer-songwriter, musician, poet and novelist.

Many people put on an act every morning when they wake up. They put on a perfect smile concealed with perfect make-up and then they put their mask on. When they leave home they leave for a place known for its famous masquerade: high school.

When people put on an act today it isn’t about being who they want to be, it’s about being someone others wants them to be. In the cold community we live in today we are expected to be happy, have a nice life and nothing is supposed to be wrong. We are the cream generation: those who are born into a world where we don’t really need to fear anything. We got our luxury problems and our superficial needs. Most of all: we try to satisfy anyone but yourself, we are longing for acceptance and the easy way to get it is by faking.
Personally I’ve never understood people who pretend to be something they’re not, most of all: those who are trying to be someone they don’t even want to be. This is the 21st century, we are supposed to be independent and mature but I believe we’ve never been more tied up know what other people think of us. It doesn’t matter if we have to smile every single day even when we are sad if everyone likes us. If other people notice us and accept us we do anything to keep it that way. You’re act will make you become the person you’re trying to be. Maybe you’ll wake up some day twenty years from now thinking: ‘Oh fu** I’ve wasted my life’
You won’t get those year back, they’re gone and you can never take the time you wasted on bullsh**t back. Never.

Now this post was supposed to be a positive one so I have to turn on the coin here:

“Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you act.”

If you really want to be someone or something, put on an act. You’re that person, you pretend you are that person and eventually you’ll become that person. It works every time.
I’ve wasted every single year I’ve attended high school, I’ve hated school and I haven’t done homework since I was ten. Well that’s say: I’ve started doing my homework this year because I’m done wasting my life. And you know what? I found that I’m actually enjoying school, it started as an act but now it’s real. My grades (marks) are good, they actually are above the average grades. I actually prepare for my tests and it really feels good sitting there and know that you know the answers. It feels great when the teacher ask to read your essay out loud because it was that good or when you get a surprising test in a subject and toy actually manage it quite well because you did your homework.
In Norway we have a grade system in number 1 – 6 (where 1 is the lowest and 6 the highest, 3 -4 is average grades) and I haven’t a single test this year that is lower than 4 and I got more 5’s than 4’s. (I have to mention that I’ve never actually failed in any subject)

If you determined to do something, you can accomplish it. Act the way you want to be, and it will be you.

2 responses to ““Act the way you’d like to be and soon you’ll be the way you act.”

  1. How did you go about doing that? I am currently in university and unlike all my previous school experience, I find myself unmotivated, and somehow it takes me 2 hours to read 1 single page…..What act did you do?

    • I’m motivated by the fact that I have to have great grades to get into the field I want to study next year. But I just try to connect everything in school to something I like very much (for me it’s either vampires or I connects it to something I can use in a novel later).
      If you are into football or some kind of franchise (Twilight, Hunger-games, Harry Potter etc.) try to find something that connects to anything inside whatever you are into.

      I even manage to connect biology to vampires and Spanish to novel writing, it doesn’t need to be a reasonable, you just need to believe in the connection.

      This works for me, I hope it helps you to :)

Leave a Reply

